Long Term Athlete Development

Stourbridge Swimming Club supports and implements the ASA’s Long Term Athlete Development (LTAD) programme. As a Club we believe that to succeed in the long term, swimmers should follow a journey in training; competition and swimmer progression. Within LTAD there are 5 stages:

  1. FUNdamentals – Childhood
  2. SwimSkills – Late Childhood
  3. Training to Train – Adolescence
  4. Training to Compete – Early Adulthood
  5. Training to Win – Adulthood

LTAD lays out progression through the stages and outlines growth, skills, levels of competition, stroke specialisation etc.

To find out more, please take a look at the ASA’s document: